Aaron and the Argonuts colour on white.png
17.4.22 Jazz Ahead A5 Flier Front.jpg

Originally a garage band duo, Aaron and The Argonauts met at Covent Garden Opera House while performing in Carlos Acosta's Cubania. They grew into a multinational collective of master musicians and singers, led by former Amy Winehouse sax player Aaron Liddard. Aaron has also performed with the likes of Prince, Maceo Parker and the Boomtown Rats with Bob Geldof.

The Argonauts fuse classic jazz funk sensibilities with twists of electronica and Cuban, Brazilian and Jamaican traditions. The six piece band are an international collective of musicians from the U.K., Cuba, Brazil, Switzerland, Italy & Germany. Together they create beautiful, passionate and highly original music, with ear-worm melodies and dance friendly rhythms. Expect Jazz, Bossa Nova, Funk, Alt Rock, Gospel and Drum 'n' Bass. Quality Nourishment for Your Mind Soul and Spirit!

Along with Aaron, the band comprises Giulia Joni Marelli (vocals), Jimmy Norton (drums), Eric Young (percussion), Filipe Monteiro (guitar) and Paul Michael (bass and keyboards). The band are very often joined by special guests including Cuban violinist Omar Puente (Courtney Pine), Yelfris Valdés on trumpet (Buena Vista Social Club), Tom White on trombone (Kylie Minogue), also on trumpet Sid Gauld (Incognito), guitarist Dave Ital (Chaka Khan) and guest vocalists Miss Baby Sol and Decosta Boyce, both of who are artists in their own right and have performed alongside artists such as Paloma Faith, Redlight, Rebecca Ferguson, Florence and The Machine and The Noisettes.

an instantly identifiable, unique sound.
— London Jazz News
 
Together Forever is a veritable jazz version of Romeo and Juliet, this band is essential listening
— Blues and Soul magazine
 

GIGS

Tuesday 16th October - Jazz nos fundos, Sao Paolo

Thursday 18th October - Casa da Arvore, Araraquara

Friday 19th October - Sao Carlos

Saturday 20th October - Bob & Wine

Sunday 21st October - Nhundiaquara Jazz festival

Monday 22nd October - Workshop in Curitiba

Tuesday 23rd October - Opera de Arame, Curitiba

Wednesday 24th October - Opera de Arame, Curitiba

Thursday 31st January - RamJam club, Kingston

PAST GIGS

Thursday 25th January - RamJam club, Kingston

Friday 2nd February - Hoochie Coochie club, Newcastle

Saturday 3rd February - No39 Hopstar brewery, Darwen

Tuesday 19th December - Devonshire Square,  London

Wednesday 23rd August - Pizza Express, Soho

 

REVIEWS

London Jazz News

Blues and Soul Magazine